- Fina way of showing how much individual products or services contribute to net profit.EXAMPLEIts calculation is straightforward:Sales price – variable cost = contribution marginOr, for providers of services:Total revenue – total variable cost = contribution marginFor example, if the sales price of a good is $500 and variable cost is $350, the contribution margin is $150, or 30% of sales. This means that 30 cents of every sales dollar remain to contribute to fixed costs and to profit, after the costs directly related to the sales are subtracted.Contribution margin is especially useful to a company comparing different products or services. For example:Obviously, Product C has the highest contribution percentage, even though Product A generates more total profit. The analysis suggests that the company might do well to aim to achieve a sales mix with a higher proportion of Product C. It further suggests that prices for Products A and B may be too low, or that their cost structures need attention. Notably, none of this information appears on a standard income statement.Contribution margin can be tracked over a long period of time, using data from several years of income statements. It can also be invaluable in calculating volume discounts for preferred customers, and break-even sales or volume levels.
The ultimate business dictionary. 2015.
Look at other dictionaries:
Contribution margin — Decomposing Sales as Contribution plus Variable Costs. In the *****Cost Volume Profit Analysis model, costs are linear in volume. In cost volume profit analysis, a form of management accounting, contribution margin is the marginal profit per unit … Wikipedia
Contribution Margin — A cost accounting concept that allows a company to determine the profitability of individual products. It is calculated as follows: Product Revenue Product Variable Costs Product Revenue The phrase contribution margin can also refer to a per unit … Investment dictionary
contribution margin — contribution … Accounting dictionary
Contribution margin — The difference between variable revenue and variable cost. The New York Times Financial Glossary … Financial and business terms
contribution margin — The difference between variable revenue and variable cost. Bloomberg Financial Dictionary … Financial and business terms
Contribution Margin — ⇡ Deckungsbeitrag … Lexikon der Economics
contribution margin — /ˌkɒntrɪ bju:ʃ(ə)n ˌmɑ:dʒɪn/ noun the difference between the revenue generated by a product and its total variable costs … Marketing dictionary in english
Contribution margin-based pricing — maximizes the profit derived from an individual product, based on the difference between the product s price and variable costs (the product s contribution margin per unit), and on one’s assumptions regarding the relationship between the… … Wikipedia
contribution margin ratio — contribution to sales ratio; = production–volume ratio; = profit–volume ratio The ratio of the contribution per product to the sales value, often expressed as a percentage. It is a way of ranking a range of products in terms of their relative… … Accounting dictionary
Маржинальная прибыль (CONTRIBUTION MARGIN, MARGINAL CONTRIBUTION) — Разность между доходом от реализации и переменными затратами. Для достижения точки безубыточности маржинальная прибыль должна покрыть постоянные затраты. См. также Доля маржинальной прибыли (Contribution Margin Ratio); Маржинальная прибыль на… … Словарь терминов по управленческому учету